October Book of the Month: The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

Your votes have been counted!

7 days of nominations!

7 days of voting!

And now we have a winner for a book for the theme, MONSTER MASH.

The Mocha Girl Read Book of the Month for October is The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey.  Take a minute to see what this book is all about.

Synopsis

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her “our little genius.”

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children’s cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she’ll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn’t know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

About the Author

Mike Carey was born in Liverpool in 1959. He worked as a teacher for fifteen years, before starting to write comics. When he started to receive regular commissions from DC Comics, he gave up the day job.

Since then, he has worked for both DC and Marvel Comics, writing storylines for some of the world’s most iconic characters, including X-MEN, FANTASTIC FOUR, LUCIFER and HELLBLAZER. His original screenplay FROST FLOWERS is currently being filmed. Mike has also adapted Neil Gaiman’s acclaimed NEVERWHERE into comics.

Somehow, Mike finds time amongst all of this to live with his wife and children in North London.

Author’s Links

Website

Twitter

Goodreads

Buy the Book

Congratulations Mike Carey for being the winner of October’s book of the month for 2017!

Feel free to leave comments below or at Goodreads.com. We are looking forward to hearing what you all think of this month’s selection.

Keep the pages turning ladies.

Leave a Comment

Quote it

Natalie Baszile

Leave a Comment

What Did You Think Of: Born A Crime by Trevor Noah?

Hello Mocha Girls!

I hope you all are having a splendid week. I know that many of us are currently trying to get through our September Book of the Month, but I wanted to take a moment to discuss Born A Crime, by Trevor Noah, with you guys once more. Please feel free to write any additional thoughts you had about the book!

Born A Crime: Stories From A South African Childhood by Trevor Noah book cover

What did you love/hate about Born A Crime?

Was the pacing and structure of the autobiography easy or hard for you to get through?

If you were Trevor Noah’s editor, is there anything you would change about the novel?

One of the things we discussed at my book club meeting is how a variation of the racism Noah experienced during the apartheid and the years after can still be felt even here in the states. Is that something you noticed as well?

A major theme in the book is colorism, and how Noah’s skin tone was both an advantage and disadvantage growing up. Do you see the effects of colorism in your life? How do you deal with it?

Please sound off in the comments section!!

One more thing: I’m a member of the Harlem chapter (whoop whoop!) in New York and along with the thought-provoking discussion we had about this remarkable book, a lot of girls in our recent meeting took the time to explain how crucial a group like Mocha Girls Read is for them. Finding people with like-minded ideas and backgrounds can be hard to come by as we grow older and when we do find those people, it’s a treasure. A few ladies at our meeting gave a heartfelt praise for this wonderful group that gathers black, intelligent women who love to read and discuss current events, a gathering they felt was missing in their lives. I sincerely hope this group, either online or in person, brings that same kind of warmth and comfort to you, wherever you are. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Comment

Let’s Vote: October’s Book of the Month – Monster Mash!

For the month of OCTOBER, we are going to read a MONSTER MASH (ANY BOOK WITH A VAMPIRE, SHAPESHIFTER, WEREWOLF OR THINGS THAT GO BUMP IN THE NIGHT) .  As always there are some really great titles up for the vote this time.

Here are the Rules for Voting.

1. You may vote for three (3) books.

2. All members get to vote only once.

3. Last day to vote will be SEPTEMBER 17, 2017. (11:00pm Los Angeles time)

4. The book with the most votes wins. But if there is a tie there will be a 48-hour death match. The two or three books will go into a head to head competition for only 48 hours. Whichever book is left standing (with the most votes) wins!

Below the poll, you will find the title of the books linked to more information on Amazon.

*Note: If a book is found to have accumulated fraudulently votes, it will be disqualified and the second runner up will be our book of the month.*

 


Leave a Comment

Nominations for October’s Book of the Month: Monster Mash

 It’s that time to pick a new book of the month.

The theme for October’s book nominations will be…Monster Mash (Any paranormal, ghost, vampire, werewolves, shapeshifter book.)

Note: If you are nominating a book in a series then only book 1 is allowed. And all nominations should be published in e-book and physical form.

Nominations are from 9/4/17 – 9/10/17

For selecting our book of the month Mocha Girls Read uses a democratic system for monthly selections. What do I need to do? In the comments section below, tell us what you want to read next (author and title).  How many books can I nominate? Just pick 1 title off your TBR (to be read) list. Then what? We will put the list of nominations up for everyone to vote on.  Once the voting is over, the winner will be selected as the book of the month. What if there is a tie? We will put the two books to a head to head competition. The two books will be re-posted and everyone will be able to vote again but only in a 48 hour window of time. When do the nominations start and end? The nominations start today and will close on September 10, 2017 at 11:00pm. Voting will start the next day.

Let us know what you want to read next in the comment section below.

Here are some suggestions.  Click the book covers to read or buy the books on Amazon.

Save

Leave a Comment