October Book of the Month: The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

Your votes have been counted!

7 days of nominations!

7 days of voting!

And now we have a winner for a book for the theme, MONSTER MASH.

The Mocha Girl Read Book of the Month for October is The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey.  Take a minute to see what this book is all about.

Synopsis

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her “our little genius.”

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children’s cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she’ll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn’t know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

About the Author

Mike Carey was born in Liverpool in 1959. He worked as a teacher for fifteen years, before starting to write comics. When he started to receive regular commissions from DC Comics, he gave up the day job.

Since then, he has worked for both DC and Marvel Comics, writing storylines for some of the world’s most iconic characters, including X-MEN, FANTASTIC FOUR, LUCIFER and HELLBLAZER. His original screenplay FROST FLOWERS is currently being filmed. Mike has also adapted Neil Gaiman’s acclaimed NEVERWHERE into comics.

Somehow, Mike finds time amongst all of this to live with his wife and children in North London.

Author’s Links

Website

Twitter

Goodreads

Buy the Book

Congratulations Mike Carey for being the winner of October’s book of the month for 2017!

Feel free to leave comments below or at Goodreads.com. We are looking forward to hearing what you all think of this month’s selection.

Keep the pages turning ladies.

Leave a Comment

Let’s Vote: October’s Book of the Month – Monster Mash!

For the month of OCTOBER, we are going to read a MONSTER MASH (ANY BOOK WITH A VAMPIRE, SHAPESHIFTER, WEREWOLF OR THINGS THAT GO BUMP IN THE NIGHT) .  As always there are some really great titles up for the vote this time.

Here are the Rules for Voting.

1. You may vote for three (3) books.

2. All members get to vote only once.

3. Last day to vote will be SEPTEMBER 17, 2017. (11:00pm Los Angeles time)

4. The book with the most votes wins. But if there is a tie there will be a 48-hour death match. The two or three books will go into a head to head competition for only 48 hours. Whichever book is left standing (with the most votes) wins!

Below the poll, you will find the title of the books linked to more information on Amazon.

*Note: If a book is found to have accumulated fraudulently votes, it will be disqualified and the second runner up will be our book of the month.*

 


Leave a Comment

Nominations for October’s Book of the Month: Monster Mash

 It’s that time to pick a new book of the month.

The theme for October’s book nominations will be…Monster Mash (Any paranormal, ghost, vampire, werewolves, shapeshifter book.)

Note: If you are nominating a book in a series then only book 1 is allowed. And all nominations should be published in e-book and physical form.

Nominations are from 9/4/17 – 9/10/17

For selecting our book of the month Mocha Girls Read uses a democratic system for monthly selections. What do I need to do? In the comments section below, tell us what you want to read next (author and title).  How many books can I nominate? Just pick 1 title off your TBR (to be read) list. Then what? We will put the list of nominations up for everyone to vote on.  Once the voting is over, the winner will be selected as the book of the month. What if there is a tie? We will put the two books to a head to head competition. The two books will be re-posted and everyone will be able to vote again but only in a 48 hour window of time. When do the nominations start and end? The nominations start today and will close on September 10, 2017 at 11:00pm. Voting will start the next day.

Let us know what you want to read next in the comment section below.

Here are some suggestions.  Click the book covers to read or buy the books on Amazon.

Save

Leave a Comment

MGR Reading Challenge: 2017 Book Bingo! #3

Welcome to the third an final card of Mocha Girls Read Reading Challenge for 2017.  

The previous years we have had a spell it out challenge where everyone had to spell out “Mocha Girls Read 16”.  But this year we are going to change it completely and do Book Bingo!  For the final 2017 reading challenge, we are going to do what Mocha Girls do.  We are going to read a wide range of books.  That is what this book club does.

What is Book Bingo? 

Have you played Bingo?  Welllll….Same thing.  Pick a square and read a book that fits the theme of that square.  When you complete two lines, whether it’s a straight line or a diagonal line then you have a bingo.  But this time only straight lines and no diagonals!

~ The Rules ~

  • Audiobook, E-books and physical books count.
  • One book per square
  • At the end of April, you must check in here and post your reads.
  • Books must be read from September 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017
  • Authors, no reading your own book, please.
  • Must complete 2 STAIRGHT lines.
  • No signing up needed.  Just check in from December 31 to January 6

During the four months, we will post books suggestions for you to check out if you are having difficulties finding a book to fit a few of the squares.

This card is good from Sept. 1 to December 31, 2017.  This is the last card of 2017.

~ The Prize ~

You will win a mystery book.  One book will be shipped to you and the title will not be revealed until you open it.

~ 2nd Bingo Card ~

Click the card to download and print it if you need to.

Good Luck and check back to get suggestions on what to read to win.

Leave a Comment

MGR Reading Challenge: 2nd 2017 Book Bingo Completed Card

Welcome back to the 2nd Mocha Girls Read Reading Challenge for 2017.  

How did you do?  Did you get to read the first four book of the months?  Did you get into a completely new genre or read a new author?  If you downloaded a Book Bingo card now is the time to show it off.

I decided to just read and see where the books I read would fall again.  Funny thing is…and again I didn’t complete a single line.  AGH!!  Why didn’t I read a PINK book, or a book that starts with “G”?  ARGH!!  So close!  Here is my card.

Now it’s your turn to show off your Book Bingo cards and enter for your chance to win a new book.  But first, let’s do a review of what Book Bing is, the rules and the prize.

What is Book Bingo? 

Have you played Bingo?  Welllll….Same thing.  Pick a square and read a book that fits the theme of that square.  When you complete two lines, whether it’s a straight line or a diagonal line then you have a bingo.

~ The Rules ~

  • Audiobook, E-books and physical books count.
  • One book per square
  • At the end of April, you must check in here and post your reads.
  • Books must be read from May 1, 2017 to August 31, 2017
  • Authors, no reading your own book, please.
  • Must complete 2 lines.  (Any combination of lines is a bingo)
  • No signing up needed.  Just check in from August 31 to September 7
  • Fill out the Rafflecopter below

~ The Prize ~

You will win a mystery book.  One book will be shipped to you and the title will not be revealed until you open it.

~ Enter Your Card Here ~

a Rafflecopter giveaway

If you didn’t get two lines for this Book Bingo card start fresh on a new card. The next one starts on September 1 and ends on December 31. Click here to get your new card and read on.

Leave a Comment